Bowls news: fours, pennants and more

The winners of the major fours Brian Asimus, Michael Ryan, Russell Dietrich and Scott Andrews.
The winners of the major fours Brian Asimus, Michael Ryan, Russell Dietrich and Scott Andrews.

The Major Fours were played last Saturday. Mick Ryan (Flash), Brian Asimus (Spro), Russell Dietrich (Russ) and Scott Andrews (Scooter) had a 16:13 win over Rob Priest, Ray Dunstan, Peter Mackay and Brian Tisdell. Congratulations to the winners, it was a close, low scoring but friendly game.

Irish day: What a fabulous day last Wednesday. Thank you to all 48 players who turned up. Many thanks to the Irish ladies for organising such a fun day with so many prizes, activities and so much wonderful food. The Irish meal was just delicious. Many of the gents thought the cost for the day was too cheap especially when the funds were raised for The Far West.

Our next dress-up, mixed day is a Pink Day, on May 17 to raise funds for breast cancer research.

Thursday afternoon: There were 18 players last Thursday. Ron Symons, Bobby Grant and Darryl Griffiths picked up an 18:15 win from Rooster, Merv Langfield and Al Phillips. Ian MacCallum and Tony Bratton won by 24:20 from Harvey Elliott and Grant Lambert. Kingsley Green and Dale Barker did well with a 25:23 victory from Viv Russell and Glen Kearney. Pete Brogan and Pete Mackay led all the way with a 24:20 from Allan Hilder and Graham West. The prizes went to Ian and Tony with Graham and Allan picking up the consolation.

Friday night bowls sponsored by Gunn’s Menswear and Embroidery. The young players from Wagga had a great night. The 80’s defeated Wrights and Wrongs by 13:10. Priests 1 defeated Wagga Squash Players by 14:13. Tyre Power defeated the Magpies 17:12. Three Amigos defeated Bedgerebong 1 by 20:7. Bedgerebong 3 defeated Bedgerebong 2 convincingly by 22:7. Divas defeated Priests 2 by 17:11. Priests 3 defeated MG’s by 17:13. The Divas won the winning rink and Wagga Squash the losing rink.

Sunday morning: The conditions were somewhat humid as they played the third round of the Bakehouse monthly competition. There were five resting touchers on the day and they were Ray Drabsch, Paul Baker, John Ashcroft, Pete Brogan and Clive Herbert.

The winning rink went to Byron Gale and Glen Kearney who defeated Pam Stevens and Tony Bratton. The losing rink went to Sid Walker and Col Breaden who were defeated by Daniel Tisdell and Don Hodson. Julie Shaw and Geoff Brown defeated Loris Stewart and John Cutler. John Lasker and Peter Corliss showed no mercy as they gave John Bentick and Pat Hodson a lesson. Barry Anderson and Pete Brogan defeated John Ashcroft and Allan Hilder. Tara Shaw and Ray Drabsch defeated Paul Baker and Clive Herbert.

Pennants: Our fours had a convincing win at home against West Dubbo. The Sevens were defeated 54:53 at home by an undefeated Gooloogong team.

Wayne Burton, Ron Thurlow, Grant Lambert and Mick Ryan, won their match, even after Gooloogong winning the last four ends.

Tony Bratton, Graham West, Darryl Griffiths, and Bobby Grant won their match after leading all the way.

Peter Mackay, Al Phillips, John Williams and Rob Priest went down giving Gooloogong a one point victory overall. It was a nail biting match at the end. 

Many thanks to Ann Mackay and Sandra Priest for capably scoring the big board for us. This week’s teams are on the board. Let your skip know early if you are unavailable.

A reminder from the zone secretary: In an Association event played in a team or side format, all members of the team or side must be similarly attired. ‘Similarly attired’ does not require all players to be identically dressed, however all items from within a category must be of similar design and colour scheme. Penalty is disqualification.