Magpies celebrate great season at 2019 presentation night

Forbes Magpies have celebrated the best of 2019 at the annual presentation night.

The season saw the Under 18s claim a second, back-to-back Group 11 premiership and our league tag side qualify for their first grand final.

This year's award recipients were:

Club Person of the Year: Chris Butler

Most Outstanding Player of the Year: Jack Hartwig

Best new talent: Tom Toohey

Supporter of the Year: Jed Everson

President's Award: Matt Jack and Jenny Hocking.

In a highlight of the night, the brother of Mick Newson for whom the first grade best and fairest trophy is named came to Forbes to present the trophy.

Gary Newson said it was a real honour for the family to have the trophy named for him.

"He was only in Forbes a short period of time so to have the best and fairest award named after him ... from our family's point of view, it's very special," he said.

A look through the Advocate archives reveals Mick was a highly regarded fullback, tipped for selection for Group 11 and chosen as a member of a dream team of Magpies of all eras in 1969.

"Mick was the best back to come to Group 11 for years," then president of the rugby league club, Ron Seaman, said.

The last time the Newson family attended Magpies presentation was in 1974 when Mick's mum Nellie, who passed away in 1976, presented the trophy.

Gary attended with his wife Margaret and daughter Kristen, Mick's surviving siblings Arthur and Helen were unable to attend.

First grade: best and fairest Hayden Bolam; best forward Tim Dukes; best back Bailey Hartwig; coach's award Jake Hadrill; rookie of the year Tom Toohey and Jack Hartwig; manager's award Ethan Gaffney.

Reserve grade: Best and fairest Chris Butler; best new talent Taylor Krause; most dedicated Scott Allen; most improved Henry Willis; most tries Chris Butler; best forward Corey Hurford; best back Tom Maguire; player's player Jake Stenhouse.

Under 18s: best and fairest Tom Phillips; best back Toby Hurford; best forward Campbell Woolnough; most tries Zeke Hartwig; player's player Jack Hartwig; most potential Tom Toohey; rookie Isaac Nash; most improved Kyle McClenahan.

League tag: best and fairest Mikaela Mongan; best forward Amelia Davis; best back Courtney Hodge; coach's award Jess Ruge; manager's award Sam Thornton; most improved Emily Jack; player's player Mikaela Mongan, Grace Quigley and Jordan Gaffney.

Life memberships were presented to Greg Grogan, Andrew Rousell and Greg Hanns.

As the club now looks to 2020, the end-of-season jumper presentation is on at the clubhouse from 6pm on Friday September 27.

The AGM is set down for 6.30pm on Wednesday October 2 at the Heritage Cafe.

President Matt Coleman welcomes all interested to come along and be part of the committee and team of volunteers.