Nominations now open for Forbes' 2020 Australia Day honours

Our 2019 Junior Citizen of the Year Sam Mackay and Citizen of the Year Amy Shine.
Our 2019 Junior Citizen of the Year Sam Mackay and Citizen of the Year Amy Shine.

Each year on Australia Day, the Forbes community comes together to celebrate the day and acknowledge the contributions of the amazing individuals we have in this community through the Australia Day Awards.

Forbes Shire Council is asking the community to submit nominations soon, as the closing date is fast approaching.

This year there are three categories; Citizen of the Year (25 years or older), Young Citizen of the Year (25 years or younger) and Senior Citizen of the Year (65 years or older).

"I encourage you all to nominate the wonderful people we are fortunate enough to have in our community," Forbes Shire Mayor, Phyllis Miller OAM, said.

"They don't have to be famous to be nominated for our Australia Day Awards.

"We want to honour the unsung heroes in our community, and we have many.

"We are looking for someone who is great at what they do and inspires those around them."

Mayor Miller will be joined by Deputy Mayor Jenny Webb and Council General Manager Steve Loane in presenting the significant awards in 2020.

January 25 will see the return of the Australia Day parade through the streets of Forbes to the Lake Forbes venue.

"I encourage you all to submit your forms and let us know what you will be showcasing in the parade," Mayor Miller said.

Parking for the event will be at Spooners Oval.

Events will centre on Lions Park. Along with canoeing and paddle-boating on the Lake there will be free activities for the kids.

The CWA Damper competition will be on again, celebrating our traditional bread.

Entries into this competition need to be submitted at Lions Park by 5pm to be in the running.

The day's celebrations would not be complete without a biggest fireworks display over the lake.

These will occur at 9.30pm, so make sure your pets are suitably restrained.

Applications close, January 5. For more information and nomination form visit